Eat Your Way Around

Eat Your Way Around: Washington, D.C.

Recently I took a road trip for a long weekend to Washington, D.C.  I had the opportunity to run the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler and it quickly became one of my favorite races to date.

17492325_10101439696179275_5997218068119882159_o

Prior to visiting anywhere I do my restaurant/where to eat research to look at menus and locations of restaurants.  This gives me a slight upper hand when I walk in and decide what to eat.  I am usually the one to ask to have something removed or added to my dish.  Yes, the pain in the neck!

I knew upon our arrive in D.C. that I had to take my food choices on the easy side because I didn’t want any issues come Sunday, race day.  We dropped our stuff at the hotel and walked around the block to a small cafe called the Uptown Cafe for breakfast.  Sadly I didn’t take any photos because I was really hungry.  It was nearly 10:30 am and I hadn’t had breakfast.  I did get a delicious egg omelette with fresh turkey (not the cold cut type) and topped with avocado, a side of hash brown potatoes (looked more on the baked side) and a piece of whole wheat toast.    Normally I would not have had the toast but because it was so late in the morning I would have rather that then some junk I would have picked up along the way.  For a nice quick breakfast it was very delicious and FAIRLY healthy!

Late breakfasts mean no lunch and an early dinner.  bbpWe sat on the stairs of the Capitol Reflecting Pool after a pretty busy afternoon deciding what our next meal would be.  There were so many restaurants that sounded delicious from Italian to Mexican and everything in between.  I finally decided on a place that not only came up in my research but also highly recommchiended called Busboys and Poets.  This restaurant caters to all sorts of eating styles including Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten Free.  When you first walk in to the location they have a small book store with cook books and other stuff.  I decided on the Pan Roasted Chicken.  The chicken was PERFECTLY cooked with a side of green beans and fingerling potatoes.  I seriously could not have cleaned my plate any more.  It was the perfect dinner before a long run the next morning.  My husband had the Shrimp and Chicken Chorizo Pasta.  We did opt for dessert after dinner.  I had a delicious vegan chocolate chip cookie and he had a cherry pie.  Each dessert came with a slice of a star fruit.  Anyone ever taste this?  It tasted like an apple and a pear had a not so sweet baby!  Without a doubt I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area.  A++ Busboys & Poets!cookpie

Sunday morning was race day so I fueled with my normal protein of some sort (this was a piece of a sweet potato waffle I made with some nut butter on top).  Post race I stopped at the Harris Teeter hot food bar.  I got some eggs, shredded carrots, apple slices, and a small blueberry pancake.  It was a little late so there was not much to pick from as far as carbs go.  I would have went with potatoes but there were none.  Everything was delicious and it was perfect for another quick breakfast.

Lunch was a bit later in the day because of my late breakfast.  If you travel around the heart of D.C. where the museums and monuments are you will find all sorts of food trucks.  You can get Mediterranean, Mexican, American, and dessert to name a few.  There had to be at least 60 trucks lining the streets.  We chose to have some Mediterranean from a food truck.  I had falafel with rice and my husband had chicken schwarma over rice and lettuce.  We made a good choice with this truck because it was DELICIOUS!  It was a beautiful day so we had the ability to sit outside on the grass and have a picnic.

Dinner was the only reservation I made.  It was at a place just north of the Lincoln Memorial called Founding Farmers.ff1

 

ff2I was glad I made a reservation because the place was packed.  I opted for a glazed cedar plank salmon with green beans and sweet potatoes.  My husband had chicken and waffles with mac & cheese and a sweet potato.  Needless to say you can see who made the healthier dinner decision! 🙂  I did not leave a drop left on that plate.  Another A+ food decision.  There were other things I would have opted to have as an appetizer but I wanted to maybe have dessert after a LONG day of walking and running.  For dessert I got a piece of carrot cake and ate less than half.  The piece was HUGE!  My husband opted for the beignets.  He said they were delicious.

Our final D.C. meal was at a place I had wanted to try all weekend called The Protein Bar.  They have a couple of locations.

 

I had a broccoli egg scramble without the cheese and a Matcha Avocado Vegan Protein Smoothie.  My husband had an egg wrap and a smoothie called Federal A’Peel with Chocolate Vegan protein, peanut butter, banana, and agave nectar.

 

Their menu has so many wonderful healthy choices for vegans, vegetarians, and meat eaters alike.

 

If you are looking for great places to visit some of the places we went to were – The Capitol Building, The Botanical Gardens, The Air and Space Museum, The American History Museum (we didn’t get to see everything but this was my favorite!), all of the monuments (LOTS of walking!), and the Holocaust Museum.  I was hoping to get into the African American Museum but tickets were given out for the day.  D.C. is a great place to visit because aside from food you do not have to pay to get into the museums, unless you want to do any of the extras like simulators, movies, and other attractions that they have.

Leave a Reply

