"P"

“P” is for Pulled Pork Carnitas

Right before the new year my husband and I went to a little get together at my friend Monica’s house. She had lots of different “picking” style foods for everyone to enjoy.  One of my favorite things she made was pulled pork on sweet potato toast (and a couple of pom seeds on top!).  My husband and I, along with everyone else there, went CRAZY for this!  I knew I had to make it.  Being that a few days later I was starting our January Whole 30 I had to wait until week 2 because that first weeks meals were already set.  I am a HUGE planner and you will see when I post my meal plan at the end how much so.  This came into play for days 8-14 for a few meals and it was just as tasty.  She cooked hers in an Instapot and I used a Crockpot because I don’t have one.

1

Ingredients –2
Pulled Pork Carnitas from Trader Joe’s meat section
2 roasted red peppers
1 Red Onion
Garlic – 1-2 cloves or 1-2 tablespoons depending on your preference
Broth (chicken or veggie – Whole 30 Compliant) – enough to cover at least the bottom of the slow cooker)

Directions –
1.  Roast your red peppers under the broiler for about 20 minutes (turn every 7-10 minutes until they are soften and the skin can be easily removed).  When finished removed the skin and chop to smaller pieces.
2.  Put the pulled pork in your slow cooker (I made a larger batch and used 2 packages) along with the rest of the ingredients.4
3.  Put your slow cooker on high for about 2 hours.  I originally did an hour but it didn’t come soft enough so I had to let it cook some more.  Halfway through take the lid off and start shredding the pork with forks.  This will allow for the juices to mix together for extra flavor.    I checked this a few times and did this process each time because the longer it sits the better the flavor.5

The finished product –

6

Leave a Reply

