"P"

“P” is for Paleo Pizza

This past weekend I wanted to venture out of my recent comforts of food and make a paleo pizza for my husband and I.  I knew I was going to keep it dairy free, gluten free, and aside from a little corn on top it is paleo.  I spent a little bit of time online researching different recipes to see what I wanted to include and not include in my dough.  I already knew it wasn’t going to be a “traditional” pizza because I am trying to avoid dairy as much as possible.

I haven’t had a piece of “real” pizza since before my first Whole 30 so it was at least May 2016 and I don’t miss it one bit.

I did not take many photos of the meal because I wasn’t planning to post it but got asked several times on my Instagram to share the recipe I used.

Ingredients
– 1 cup coconut flour
– 1.5 cup almond flour
– 1 cup coconut almond milk (I used Califia Farms) – you can use any type of milk you prefer.
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tsp garlic powder
– 4 whole eggs
– 1.5 tsp baking powder
– Next time I want to try using Italian seasoning or whichever seasoning sparks my interest and use that in the mix.

Mix all of the dry ingredients together.  Slowly add in the wet ingredients until all is well incorporated and you can form the dough into a ball so you see it will not crumble.  Place the ball of dough in between 2 pieces of parchment paper.  I rolled it out to a 1/6 inch using my Joseph Joseph rolling pin.  Make sure you roll out to the size/shape of the pan you plan to use for cooking.

Place in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  I let the edges get a little brown but not too much.

Once done I had an acorn squash puree (roasted cubes of the squash and then pureed with the Califia Farms milk) that I used as the “sauce”, topped with some diced chicken (already cooked), cut up red pepper and a veggie mix.  I put that back in the oven for about 10 minutes.  I then added little dabs of Kite Hill Ricotta Cheese to the pizza.  For my husbands slices I added provolone cheese.  I put it back in the oven for about 5 minutes.

Untitled

I then cut it up and we had enough pizza for 2 meals each.

**The leftovers taste really good heated again.  I used a micro.

Leave a Reply

